Links

Political links

I am a member of Lewisham Council and there are various pages relating to Sydenham including the Sydenham Assembly.

Please visit the Lewisham Labour Group to find out more about our local policies and councillors. We also have ward pages including one for Sydenham. The Labour Group can be contacted through labour.group@lewisham.gov.uk.

The directly elected Mayor for Lewisham is Sir Steve Bullock and to contact Steve please email -steve.bullock@lewisham.gov.uk or write to him at the Town Hall - Mayor's Office, Lewisham Town Hall, Catford, London, SE6 4RU.

The MP for West Lewisham and Penge is Jim Dowd he can be contacted by email - dowdj@parliament.uk - or telephone the office on 020 8699 2001. The Constituency office is at 43 Sunderland Road, Forest Hill.

Our MP for Deptford is Joan Ruddock who was the Minister of State with responsibility for energy policy in the newly created Department of Energy and Climate Change. I was delighted that our former Deputy Mayor Heidi Alexander has been elected as the MP for Lewisham East.

The Greater London Authority has information on Lewisham.

Len Duvall is the Member for Greenwich and Lewisham and can be contacted by email len.duvall@london.gov.uk or telephone 020 7983 4408/4517. Len is Leader of the Labour Group and Deputy Chair of Economic Development, Culture, Sport and Tourism Committee. Val Shawcross who represents neighbouring Lambeth and Southwark is the Deputy Chair of the London Assembly Transport Committee.

To find out more about London local government visit the London Councils web site. To find out more about London including Lewisham politics please visit the London Area web site.

There are two Labour MEPs representing London - Mary Honeyball - www.maryhoneyball.net and Claude Moraes - www.claudemoraes.com/.

Labour linked websites and blogs

There are a number of Labour linked websites and blogs that promote progressive thinking and comment - Co-operative Party www.party.coop
LabourHome – www.labourhome.org LabourList – www.labourlist.org Labour Matters – www.labourmatters.com Progress - www.progressonline.org.uk Unions Together www.unionstogether.org.uk

Other progressive links include Compass – www.compassonline.org.uk Demos – www.demos.co.uk Fabian Society – www.fabians.org.uk - and the Fabian Society blog – www.nextleft.org ippr – www.ippr.org.uk New Local Government Network – www.nlgn.org.uk New Statesman – www.newstatesman.com Young Foundation – www.youngfoundation.org.uk and I am a Guardian reader who visits www.guardian.co.uk/politics.

Sydenham links

For more information on Sydenham visit the excellent and award wining Sydenham Town web site on www.sydenham.org.uk. There is also a Directory of Lewisham Community Websites at www.lewishamonline.co.uk.

I am a member of the Sydenham Society, Friend of Horniman Museum and a Friend of Sydenham Garden. I am also a supporter of the Grow Mayow Community Garden and a Friend of Mayow Park and a Friend of Home Park. I am also a supporter of the fantastic Sydenham Wells Park.

In 20111 we once again had the spectacular Sydenham International Music Festival and our third Sydenham Arts Festival..

I am proud to be a former governor of Sydenham School, the local secondary school for girls in Dartmouth Road, as the results are now above the national average. Forest Hill School in Dacres Road has over a 1,000 boys attending this thriving comprehensive school supported by a magnificient new building with state of the art technology and performing arts facilities.

The Forest Hill School Community Sports Centre has top class sports facilities open to the whole community. The facilities include 22 stations and a large sports hall that is able to offer basket ball, five a side football and different activities including Taekwondo and Tai Chi.

The Metropolitan Police Lewisham web site is well worth a visit as it has information about the Safer Neighbourhoods Team and the contact details at Sydenham Police Station - 020 8649 3598 or leave a message on 101.

For independent advice on a wide range of problems details of Sydenham Citizens Advice Bureau can be found on www.adviceguide.org.uk - telephone number 08701 264037.

Please visit Lewisham's blog for the latest information on what is happening in Lewisham.

Healthy living in Sydenham

For outdoor activities there is a Healthy Walk in Sydenham Wells Park every Tuesday at 11am meeting at the pond.

A circular walk can be made around Sydenham Common starting at Sydenham Station. Walk London has a range of information on walks in the area including the Green Chain.

There is a local sports club, the Sydenham Lawn Tennis, Squash and Croquet Club based at Springfield Road, just off Lawrie Park Road, that offers an excellent social facility with a Club House and Bar.

A public golf course at Beckenham Place Park, cricket can be played at Beckenham & Sydenham Cricket Club and dance at Sydenham Dancentre at Champion Hall, Champion Road.

Youth Forum

Young people have worked hard on the Sydenham and Forest Hill Youth Forum site. As well as the latest news the Forum has events, resources and what is happening in the community for young people.

If you want to be involved with the Young Mayor visit the web site and get the latest news.